Skip to content

Tom Brokaw Award

The Tom Brokaw Award is presented each year in a cooperative effort between SDBA and the Media & Journalism Department of the University of South Dakota. The award is presented annually at the SDBA Annual Leadership Conference.

The award recognizes excellence in broadcasting especially in the areas of electronic journalism, on or off-air involvements, and public affairs. The recipient chosen must be someone who is a native of South Dakota, or educated in South Dakota, or has made a significant contribution to South Dakota broadcasting.

The award is unique to USD and one of it’s highest honors. It is commemorated by an award to the recipient each year and by adding their name to a plaque on permanent display in the Al Neuharth Media Center in Vermillion.

Judging is done by a panel of professionals consisting of representatives from both the SDBA and USD.

Past Award Winners


Duluth Sunset

Dean Kinney
The HomeSlice Group


Tom Brokaw Award

Alicia Garcia
KOTA Territory News / KEVN Black Hills Fox
Rapid City


Tom Brokaw Award

Jody Heemstra
Dakota Radio Group


Tom Brokaw Award

Jay Huizenga
KELOLAND Media Group
Sioux Falls


Tom Brokaw Award

Gary Matthews
HomeSlice Media Group


Tom Brokaw Award

Jim Thompson
Creative Broadcast

Scroll To Top