Skip to content

Community Enhancement

Each year, the South Dakota Broadcasters Association awards $2,000 to an important cause in a community submitted by a member station. The award is given to a worthy project, organization, or individual that provides a significant benefit within the member station's listening or coverage area.

The winning project and station are honored at the Annual SDBA Leadership Conference Awards Ceremony.

2023 Community Enhancement Award Winner

Camp Drive
Tenise Chapman and the Team at Black Hills Tire
Nominated by KFXS, HomeSlice Media

Camp Drive was started as a resource to show kids some
DRIVE: Determination, Resourcefulness, Innovation, Vision, and Enthusiasm

2022 Community Enhancement Award Winner

Dignify our Rooms Campaign, Pathways Shelter for the Homeless
Nominated by KYNT-AM, Riverfront Broadcasting, Yankton

Pathways is embarking on a $60,000 campaign to “Dignify Our Rooms”.  The campaign will provide ample furnishings in each shelter room.  These amenities will be long-lasting, durable, easy to sanitize, and will be bed bug proof.  This will allow Pathways’ staff and volunteers to be more efficient when preparing a room for the next household.  In addition, and perhaps more importantly, those they serve will be able to live in a more dignified space while receiving services.  They will have ample sleeping amenities and sufficient storage for their belongings.

2021 Community Enhancement Award Winner

Mitchell Community Scholarship Fund
KMIT & KUQL FM, Saga Communications, Mitchell

The Mitchell Community Scholarship Fund annual Radiothon, raises a significant portion of the $ needed each year to fund scholarships for every graduating student in Mitchell who wishes to continue education beyond high school.  In 2021, $73,140.00 was raised.  Since its inception in 2001, the Fund has awarded scholarships totaling $1,102,300.00 with the vast majority of that money coming from the annual Radiothon which began in 2004.  2,701 students have been awarded a scholarship prior to 2021.

Scroll To Top